Super Lactate Me: The Results, A Month Later- My Weight Difference After Switching to Whole Milk

Read this, then decide whether or not you believe that switching to whole milk caused me to gain weight or not.

This is the anticipated follow-up to Super Lactate Me: Does Switching From Skim Milk to Whole Milk Really Cause You to Gain Weight?

Exactly a month ago, I switched from low fat milk to whole milk. I did a science experiment on myself to see if the traditional belief was true that “whole milk makes you fat.” Because in theory, that shouldn’t make sense. There are good fats and bad fats, and nutritionists say that milk fat on its own (not added with sugar, like in ice cream, yogurt, milk shakes, etc.) is good fat.

My weight a month ago, before whole milk, was 156.6 pounds.

My weight today, after whole milk, is…

Drum roll please…

157 pounds.

Yes, technically, I gained a fraction of a pound.  If you’re being really technical. Of course, you do realize, if I was using a normal scale instead of a digital scale, it may not have indicated any change in weight at all.

And let me just be perfectly honest and direct with you:  That fraction of a pound could be directly related to fraction more of a pound of water, or other disposable bodily substances, inside of me that morning compared to 30 days earlier .  Surely I don’t need to spell it out…

Here’s what’s really interesting.  I loved whole milk so much that I began drinking nearly twice as much milk than I did when I drank low fat milk.  Plus, I added even more fat into my diet by introducing string cheese (not the reduced fat kind) and by returning hemp seeds into my diet.  They are loaded with fat- but again, good fat.

So how has this experiment changed my life?  I consume more milk every day.  I switched from low fat sour cream to regular sour cream.  And I eat a lot more cheese now, knowing that dairy fat is not bad fat!  My wife was convinced and has now switched to whole milk, as well.

Dairy fat becomes bad when combined with sugar, or with meat (which is one of the reasons I observe a Kosher diet.)  But on its own, dairy fat is good and necessary.

Would this experiment have ended up differently if I consumed meat and cheese together in the same meals, which I don’t?  It’s very possible.

What if I still ate as much sugary snacks as I used to?  Again, I probably would have gained some weight.

But because I already abide by a strict, kosher Mediterranean diet, I’ll never know exactly how this “whole milk experiment” would affect someone else, who didn’t share my some wacky diet.

I’ll leave that experiment up to someone else.

What do you think?  Based on the results, would you say I’ve gained weight?  Or is the fraction of a pound irrelevant to the switch to whole milk?

6 thoughts on “Super Lactate Me: The Results, A Month Later- My Weight Difference After Switching to Whole Milk”

  1. Very interesting read. The weight can was irrelevant. Far to small of a gain to say the whole milk was the reason. The mixing of meat and dairy I did not know wasn’t good. I’ve drank skim milk since I was kid. May have to learn more about all this. Proper combining of foods etc.thanks!

  2. It was a great discovery for me. I’m just trying to maintain a healthy diet combine with exercise. You went as far of testing this claim…Thanks

  3. Please read The China Study or Forks Over Knives and you will know how TERRIBLE milk protein and fat are for you. Caesin ( the protein in milk) is a know carcinogen and major cancer-causing food. It is very fattening, even low-fat milk. It is the perfect food for only calves. They put on 200lbs. in a short time. How do you think they do that. All animal foods are BAD for you!! I switched to a mainly plant based diet and feel much better. My aches, pains, stomach aches, headaches all disappeared. I also take 5000mg of Vit. D3, CoQ10 and B12 daily because most Americans are nutritionally deficiant. I am a nurse and have done lots of research on becoming healthier.

Leave a Reply

